Pinned post

An ! I'm John P. I’m queer bisexual polyam in Philly with partner and kiddos. I recently left Twitter because it was a hot mess.

I’m usually active in boardgame, ttrpg, and library communities. Developing non-traditional and board game collections for libraries. Working on making game groups more accessible.

Honestly I suspect I’m going to be a bit quiet over here until I feel more like a member and less like a surprise houseguest (it’s fine really)

QUERY ConsumeMedia(?)
SELECT MediaType=SanctuaryMoon
CHECK DateTime(BoyfriendVariable)

"Release the denizens of Hell into the Earth, with Baphomet - The Sabbath Goat - at their Head, for one night only and let them run amok. Let us see the consequences - for aesthetic reasons only, of course."

I’ve never seen a game more made for me

manage.kmail-lists.com/subscri

Starting up my home brewed Unmatched decks again with

Space Sword Lesbians
vs
Murderbot(tm)
vs
Soft Wuxia Boys

Omg I love Murderbot(tm), they have an existential crisis whenever an opponent is adjacent through a turn and back burners media as a permanent boost until said crisis

The School for Good Mothers by Jessamine Chan

"This is a bleak, white-knuckle novel that examines the way gender and race influence how we expect parents to behave. I couldn’t put it down!"

Show thread

Nona the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

"If you’re fan of new systems of magic, gay swordfighters, librarians, six-legged dogs, immersive world building and snarky dialogue, give this one a try after finishing the first two books in the Locked Tomb series: Gideon the Ninth and Harrow the Ninth."

Show thread

Mother of Strangers by Suad Amiry

"A heartbreaking story about the displacement of Palestinians during the partition and civil war of 1947, the novel highlights what Palestine was before the region became embroiled with the politics of religion, Zionism, and war. "

Show thread

Mirror Lake by Juneau Black

"If you love Agatha Christie mysteries, you’ll love this homage. The third installment of the Shady Hollow mystery series follows sly fox Vera Vixen as she solves the mystery of a murdered rat who appears to still be alive."

Show thread

Groupies by Sarah Priscus

"Fans of Daisy Jones and The Six and Mary Jane will delight in this gritty, dazzling snapshot of rock stars, muses, and the complicated roles women played during the 70s."

Show thread

A Duke at the Door by Susanna Allen

"The cover looks like a normal Regency romance. But who knew there were shapeshifters in Regency England, including the Prince Regent? This is the third book in the Shapeshifters of the Beau Monde series, and they are all incomparable."

Show thread

Devil House by John Darnielle

"The story of a true crime writer agonizing over the best way to tell the story of a double homicide committed at the height of the “Satanic Panic” in the 1980s. If you're a fan of metafictional mysteries, like Thomas Pynchon’s The Crying of Lot 49 and Anthony Horowitz’s Magpie Murders, I recommend this book!"

Show thread

Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan

"This incredible debut novel includes vividly described battle scenes, touching romance, and a young woman’s earnest quest to free her mother. Perfect for fans of The Priory of the Orange Tree or The Bear and the Nightingale."

Show thread

The Bodyguard by Katherine Center

"If you like a light-hearted rom-com with well-developed characters, check out Katherine Center. I discovered Katherine Center a few years ago when I picked up How To Walk Away. Her books are a must read, and I haven’t found one yet I didn’t enjoy!"

Show thread

Bliss Montage by Ling Ma

"This surreal collection of short stories explores themes of womanhood, identity, friendships, love, and loss. Reading these stories feels like peering into a hidden world, yet one that remains marred by the very unhappiness and grief that pervades our own."

Show thread

Best fiction books I read in 2022 in no particular order at all

I told my partner that astrology is absolute crap and they reminded me that I *quite literally* and *for no discernible reason* only date January Capricorn s and damn it they right

John P boosted

The Gritters of Scotland have been released to spread rock salt joy across the fair land.

Know their names:
HANSEL AND GRIT-ALL
FOR YOUR ICE ONLY
MARY QUEEN OF SALT
SPREDDIE VAN HALEN
LOOR CHILLY
IM SHOVELIN'
SCOTLAND'S BRAVEST GRITTER
CREEDENCE CLEAR-ROAD SURVIVAL
SNOW CONNERY
SPRAY CHARLES SALTY POLAR PATROLLER
SNOW DOZER
DR SNOW
CARRIE BRADTHAW
PREADY GO SALT DISNEY
LICENCE TO CHILL
TAM O'SALTER
LORD COLDEMORT
ICESWEEPER WILLY
I WANT TO BREAK FREEZE
COLDFINGER
ROBERT BRRRNS
YOU ONLY GRIT ICE

John P boosted

Promotion, Salt and Sass Podcast, Buyer's Guide to Accessible Board Games 

Check out the newest episode of Salt and Sass, not only because Mandi and Suzanne are awesome, but because my segment on accessibility is in there! I presented a buyer's guide to accessible board games!

youtu.be/iAYuz7-8Qt0

John P boosted
Show older
Tabletop Social

We are an inclusive Mastodon community for everything tabletop (and more).